The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR) welcomes the European Parliament’s draft report on the future of the European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) regulation, which recognises the need for regions to be at the core of a reinforced Interreg instrument after 2020.

The draft report was presented by European Parliament rapporteur, Belgian MEP Pascal Arimont, at today’s meeting of the Parliament’s regional development committee.

The CPMR supports the report’s proposal to increase the Interreg budget, rather than the 12% reduction proposed by the Commission, and to reintroduce the possibility for maritime cross-border cooperation programmes to continue.

Also positive is the proposal that third countries, such as Norway and the UK after Brexit, could be eligible to take part in the regulation’s components four, fostering interregional cooperation, and five, enabling interregional innovation.

CPMR President, Vasco Cordeiro, said: “We welcome this strong first step taken by the European Parliament, which is in line with the CPMR’s position and conveys the need for an ambitious, well-resourced Interreg based on territorial needs.”

A CPMR delegation* met with Mr Arimont on 30 August, before he presented the draft report, to outline the CPMR’s 10 messages for the future of INTERREG. They stressed that Interreg is a unique and indispensable source of funding for cooperation across borders.

The CPMR also welcomes today’s working document from the Committee of the Regions (CoR) on the future of ETC, particularly its recognition of the importance of maritime cross-border cooperation programmes. The document was presented by Marie-Antoinette Maupertuis, CoR rapporteur and Executive member of the Corsican regional authority, which holds the Presidency of the CPMR Islands Commission.


*The CPMR delegation that met with MEP Pascal Arimont consisted of:

Ms Kerstin Brunnström, Regional Councillor, Region Västra Götaland and President of the CPMR North Sea Commission

Mr Sébastien Pilard, Regional Councilor, Pays-de La Loire, representing the Presidency of the CPMR Atlantic Arc Commission

Mr Cezary Cieslukowski, Regional Councillor, Podlaskie Region and Vice-President of the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission

Dr Stefan Rudolph, State Secretary of Mecklenburg Vorpommern

Ms Eleni Marianou, Secretary general of the CPMR